April 25, 2018

Che'Lu Bar&Grill-San Sebastian determined to end title series with Zark's Burger-Lyceum

Che'Lu Bar and Grill-San Sebastian aims to be only the seventh team to win the crown while Zark's Burger-Lyceum is going all-out to force a winner-take-all in Game 2 of the 2018 PBA D-League Aspirants' Cup Finals Thursday at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

The Revellers are coming off a huge 107-103 victory in Game 1 and would love nothing but to start the party with another triumph in the 4p.m.tiff.

Coach Stevenson Tiu emphasized the importance for Che'Lu-San Sebastian to seize the moment knowing that opportunities like this one don't come often.

"Kailangan kunin na namin kasi mahirap kalaban ang Zark's," he said.

Playing without leading scorer Jeff Viernes, the Revellers have gotten huge boost from veterans like Samboy de Leon and Alfred Batino, as well as the magnificent marksmanship of RK Ilagan in the game.

Sponsored content:
Tiu is hopeful that the trend will continue on Thursday.

"Even if wala si Jeff Viernes, na-prove namin na we can still win. Hopefully next game, ma-carry namin yun," he said.

But Che'Lu-San Sebastian will be against a dangerous Zark's-Lyceum team which will enter the game with nothing left to lose.

Jawbreakers coach Topex Robinson kept his belief on the ability of his wards to pull the win off as he wanted his wards to stay positive ahead of the crucial Game 2.

"There's still tomorrow for us, an opportunity for us to bounce back. They're the better team today and I have to give credit to them," he said, keeping his trust on leaders CJ Perez, Jaycee Marcelino, and Mike Nzeusseu.

Sponsored content:
Robinson zoomed in on his wards' lackluster defense in the end game as Zark's-Lyceum allowed Che'Lu-San Sebastian 31 points in the fourth quarter, while also getting outrebounded, 60-48.

Those boo-boos should be a big no-no if the Jawbreakers want to take this best-of-three Finals to the distance.

"Again, this is a best-of-three, and there's no crying over spilled milk. We just have to move forward," he said.

Also, the Conference Most Valuable Player will also be honored before Game 2, with Perez, Marcelino, De Leon, Rian Ayonayon of Marinerong Pilipino, and Jerrick Ahanmisi of Akari-Adamson among the candidates.