May 20, 2022

Williams, Bolick, Abueva, Thompson contend for MVP trophy

WILL TNT's super rookie Mikey Williams match Benjie Paras' historic twin-kill in the PBA Leo Awards?

Will NorthPort's Robert Bolick get his reward for his stellar play all year?

Will either one of Best Player of the Conference awardees Calvin Abueva of Magnolia and Scottie Thompson of Barangay Ginebra go all the way to the top individual plum?

The standouts of the PBA's Philippine Cup and Governors' Cup in Season 46 get a crack at a breakthrough MVP plum after making the shortlist of candidates for the prestigious accolade to be handed out on June 5.

In a strong comeback from a year-old absence due to an ACL injury, Bolick dazzled with 36.17 statistical points (SPs). He emerged as tops in assists with 8.2 per game while finishing No. 2 in scoring with 19.1 plus 6.86 rebounds and 1.41 steals.

Sponsored content:
Philippine Cup Finals MVP Williams is on track for the first Rookie-MVP feat since Paras in 1989, posting 34.26 SPs built around a league-best 19.5 points, 3.9 rebounds and 4.2 dimes.

He leads NorthPort's Jamie Malonzo (30.02) for the freshman trophy.

Abueva (32.87 SPs) collared the BPC accolade in the All-Filipino and produced averages of 14.5 markers, 8.79 boards, 2.3 assists and 1.0 steal for the season.

Thompson (32.22 SPs) put himself in strong consideration for MVP with his BPC and Finals MVP outings in the season-ending Governors' Cup. He delivered 13.9 points, 9 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 1.24 steals per game in the two-conference calendar.

Bolick, Williams, Abueva and Thompson headline the candidates for the Mythical Selection.

Sponsored content:
Others are San Miguel's CJ Perez and Terrence Romeo, TnT's RR Pogoy, Meralco's Chris Newsome, Magnolia's Paul Lee and Marc Barroca, NLEX' Kevin Alas and Ginebra's LA Tenorio for the guard positions; six-time MVP and top rebounder June Mar Fajardo of SMB, Hotshot Ian Sangalang, NorthPort duo Arwind Santos and Malonzo, Ginebra's Christian Standhardinger, Phoenix's Matthew Wright and Jason Perkins and Rain or Shine's Javee Mocon for the center/forward spots.

Meanwhile, Bolick and Thompson are also contending for the Most Improved Player award against Meralco's Aaron Black, TnT's Kib Montalbo and Terrafirma's Juami Tiongson.(OL)