May 01, 2018

Zark's Burger-Lyceum claims Aspirants' Cup title

Zark's Burger-Lyceum straightened up its act late and laid claim to the 2018 PBA D-League Aspirants' Cup with an improbable 92-82 Game 3 victory over Che'Lu Bar and Grill-San Sebastian Tuesday at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

CJ Perez proved why he is the Conference MVP as he led the cavalry with his 26 points, six rebounds, eight steals, and two assists to commandeer the fourth quarter turnaround for the Jawbreakers.

"I just told them that love wins, that as long as we love each other and trust each other, we'll win," said coach Topex Robinson.

Zark's-Lyceum battled its way back from a 14-point hole, 49-63 at 2:46 mark of the third period and went on a 21-4 run to start the fourth quarter to erect an 85-74 lead with 4:06 remaining.

Cameroonian center Mike Nzeusseu was also a force to be reckoned with, tallying 28 points and 18 boards, while MJ Ayaay got 14 points to close out the three-game series.

Sponsored content:
The Jawbreakers' triumph formalized the team's place in the PBA D-League history books as they became the lowest-seeded team to win the championship.

Zark's-Lyceum also shook off a terrible first half showing, clamping down on defense and forcing Che'Lu-San Sebastian to 18 turnovers in the second half, taking advantage of those miscues and turning those to 36 points off turnovers.

"I just told the players that we know, there are people praying for us. You're inspiring people and you're doing that by not just giving up," Robinson said.

Michael Calisaan paced the Revellers with 17 points and six rebounds, while Alfred Batino and Ryan Costelo finished with 12 markers apiece in the tough defeat.

The Scores:

Sponsored content:
ZARK'S BURGER-LYCEUM 92 -- Nzeusseu 28, Perez 26, Ayaay 14, Jc. Marcelino 7, Jv. Marcelino 6, Caduyac 5, Tansingco 3, Iba?ez 2, Serrano 1, Baltazar 0, Pretta 0, Yong 0.

CHE'LU BAR AND GRILL-SAN SEBASTIAN 82 -- Calisaan 17, Batino 12, Costelo 12, Ablaza 11, Bulanadi 8, De Leon 8, David 6, Collado 4, Ilagan 2, Taganas 2, Siruma 0.

Quarters: 21-18, 37-42, 64-70, 92-82.