Fajardo poised to win fourth MVP trophy

October 13, 2017

San Miguel Beer behemoth June Mar Fajardo is a strong bet for an unprecedented fourth straight PBA Most Valuable Player award, being the runaway winner of the season cumulative statistical points race.

With a whopping average of 38.58 a game, Fajardo finished almost six points clear of runner-up and San Miguel teammate Alex Cabagnot (32.96).
GlobalPort hotshot Terrence Romeo wound up third at 32.01 with TNT KaTropa main man Jayson Castro coming at fourth with 31.52, then another Beerman Arwind Santos at fifth with 30.97.

Closely behind Santos were Japeth Aguilar (30.85), Stanley Pringle (30.63), Chris Ross (30.4), Calvin Abueva (30.11) and Marcio Lassiter (29.5).

Others making the Top 25 were Chris Newsome, LA Tenorio, Scottie Thompson, Matthew Wright, Joe Devance, Alex Mallari, Sean Anthony, Paul Lee, Cliff Hodge and Kelly Williams.

These 20 players slug it out in the balloting for the Mythical First Team and the Mythical Second Team.

Curiously, just one rookie player in Wright made the Top 20.

The Phoenix Petroleum gunner is the leading candidate for the Rookie of the Year award versus TNT KaTropa's Roger Pogoy, Star's Jio Jalalon and Ginebra's Kevin Ferrer. The four are all Gilas pool members.

As winners of the Best Player of the Conference awards in the Philippine Cup and the Commissioner's Cup, Fajardo and Ross are automatically included in the official list of candidates for the season MVP award.

Also to be included in the list are the Governors Cup BPC winner and the stats frontrunners. The Governors Cup Best Player will be named before Game Two of the Ginebra-Meralco finale at the Smart Araneta Coliseum Sunday.

On the strength of his all-Filipino BPC plum and stats race victory, Fajardo could well extend his MVP reign to four years.
Sponsored content:

He looks on his way to be the third PBA player to pocket a fourth MVP award after Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio.