Nov 21, 2023

PBA 3X3: What else is new, Triple Giga rule Leg 6

THE gold standard in PBA 3x3 - TNT - took the honors as the first team to capture five leg titles in a single conference.

This the Triple Giga did by going on an unbeaten run in the Season 3 Second Conference Leg 6 wars capped by a 21-14 disposal of challenger Cavitex in the final Tuesday at Ayala Malls Trinoma.

Top gun Almond Vosotros was on target in the clincher as always, firing nine points, mostly off getaway drives and layups this time, to help TNT add another stud to their previous harvest in Legs 1, 2, 3 and 5.

Chester Saldua shot five plus eight rebounds while Gryann Mendoza and Ping Exciminiano added four and three, respectively, to complement Vosotros in TNT's newest feat worth P100,000.

The conquest of Leg 6 jacked up the overall collection of Coach Mau Belen's rampaging charges to 18 leg titles since the league inaugurals in 2021.

Sponsored content:
Amid off of these, TNT stays hungry.

"Every opportunity na ibinigay sa amin, talagang iga-grab namin," said Vosotros, whose team will use this as a major boost in its quest for the ultimate prize in Monday's Grand Finals.

"Sobrang thankful kami sa coaches management sa suporta sa team and ito yung way na nakikita namin para masuklian namin sila."

TNT, which went 2-0 in pool play then knocked out Blackwater in the quarterfinals, 18-16, and Meralco in the semifinals, 21-19, unleashed a 5-1 closing barrage anchored on Vosotros' inside incursions to put Cavitex away.

Cavitex's Jorey Napoles (six points), Bong Galanza (six points), Tonino Gonzaga (two) and Ken Ighalo (scoreless) failed to get out of TNT's stranglehold for the fourth time in as many leg finals in the mid-season conference.

Sponsored content:
The Braves, who edged out Leg 4 winner MCFASolver, 21-19, and Leg 5 second-placer Pioneer, 18-16, in the KO rounds to set a rematch with TNT. settled for runner-up honors and P50,000.

The Bolts, meanwhile, joined TNT and Cavitex in the podium after beating Pioneer, 21-13, for bronze. Meralco's Jeff Manday, Reymar Caduyac, Joseph Sedurifa and Alfred Batino went home with P30,000.(OL)