Mar 12, 2021

History made as PBA chair Vargas is elected to fourth straight term

AS in the three previous seasons, the traditional turnover of PBA chairmanship isn't going to happen in Sunday's PBA Rookie Draft.

TNT Tropang Giga governor Ricky Vargas will be there, still holding the mantle of leadership as PBA chairman for the fourth straight season.

Vargas, a corporate man and sports leader with a great vision, was elected as Season 46 chair during the election of officers which ushered in the PBA board's two-day planning session starting Monday.

Terrafirma's Bobby Rosales was reelected as vice chair while Alaska Milk's Dicky Bachmann was elected as treasurer, succeeding Blackwater's Silliman Sy.

Bachmann was also officially named as chairman of the committee to handle the PBA 3x3.

Sponsored content:
Together with the chair, Willie Marcial is serving the league as commissioner for the fourth straight season.

History was made with Vargas' reelection as the TNT franchise top official became the longest serving PBA top honcho since Carlos Palanca III of Barangay Ginebra and Rey Marquez of Formula Shell assumed the position in 1983-86 and 1987-90, respectively.

Counting his previous chairmanship in the 2006-07 season, Vargas is to serve a fifth term overall - the longest by any chair since Domingo Itchon of Tanduay Rhum Esquires occupied the post in 1976-82. (SB)